What’s In A Word?

I investigate words, allusions, metaphors and such that catch my interest.

“Blue Dog” Democrats pointy_blue_dog

Heard a lot recently about these members of Congress  called “Blue Dog Democrats.”

Seems like they have some hesitation about the president’s healthcare reforms. Mostly, it’s about the cost–Obama says his reforms will save money, not cost anything… who can believe that? I heard the Congress’s Office of Budget Management says the proposed reforms will cost a trillion dollars over ten years.

Blue Dogs are fiscally conservative.

And they, like most people, don’t like big changes. Especially if you like what you have and worry that any change will mean YOU give up something so that someone else who is not so fortunate or as responsible as you can have some security too.

No one should suffer unnecessarily, should they? Wouldn’t we have a far better society if everyone had easy access to health care.

I can’t afford the dentist, and despite all my flossing and brushing, I watch my teeth decay.

Having no health insurance, I can’t afford to have my prostate checked or have a colonoscopy… will I die from a cancer that could have been prevented?

Isn’t healthcare a right?

But what if you smoke, drink, eat too much… blah, blah, blah. Why should I pay, everyone else pay, because you make poor decisions in life?

And so on, and so on.

It drives me nuts.

But I tell you what, I don’t trust the government to provide my health care or lower the cost of care.

I far more trust the marketplace and competition to give me the best, most efficient service. We need more competition in the health insurance industry.

OK, I don’t know what the answer is. Healthcare reform is so complicated, it makes my head spin. And this term “Blue Dogs” doesn’t help any.

I did some research and found this article in The Washington Post that explains where the term Blue Dog came from:

Where “Blue Dog” Was Born

FROM WASHINGTON POST, JULY 31, 2009. washingtonpost.com

The Blue Dog Coalition, a group of conservative House Democrats founded in the mid-1990s, in many ways follows in the footsteps of the “boll weevil” Democrats who helped pass much of Ronald Reagan’s agenda.

Many of the 52 members of the group hail from the South, but their ranks include lawmakers from rural districts across the country.

According to the coalition Web site, the name comes “from the South’s longtime description of a party loyalist as one who would vote for a yellow dog if it were on the ballot as a Democrat. . . . The ‘Blue Dog’ moniker was taken by members of The Coalition because their moderate-to-conservative-views had been ‘choked blue’ by their party in the years leading up to the 1994 election.”

Oh, brother. That’s really disappointing.

“Choked blue.” A dog choked blue.

Not a very inspiring story, or very interesting. But that’s politicians for you. Boring blowhards. Why is our fate in their hands?

But this does work into my color theme for What’s In A Word? My last post was “Red Herring” (see below).

Leave a Reply

